Skip to content
← Research deep-dives

HBM suppliers: production, samples and plans

Compare what Micron, Samsung and SK hynix sources actually establish about AI memory. Keep HBM4 production separate from HBM4E sampling and future partnerships.

Sources reviewed: · Statements below retain the dates and scope of their sources.

This is a dated evidence comparison, not a live capacity dashboard or market-share estimate. A supplier's production statement does not by itself establish a customer's qualification, purchase volume or completed system deployment.

Read the milestone before comparing suppliers

  1. Samples

    Samsung HBM4E: sample shipments reported in June 2026

  2. Volume production

    Micron and Samsung HBM4: reported in March 2026

  3. Customer deployment

    Requires separate system and operator evidence

Different products can be at different milestones at the same company. A later generation's samples are not volume shipments.

Companies, sources and limits

Micron HBM4 for Vera Rubin

Volume shipments reported

Micron said volume shipments of its 36GB 12-high HBM4 began in the first calendar quarter of 2026.

Source limitations: No NVIDIA purchase share or exclusive supply arrangement is established by this release.

What to check next: Check subsequent product shipments and customer deployment reports, keeping the HBM generation explicit.

Source published:
Micron · HBM4 volume production for Vera Rubin ↗

Samsung HBM4 for Vera Rubin

Mass production reported

Samsung's March 17 GTC release describes HBM4 in mass production and designed for NVIDIA Vera Rubin.

Source limitations: This does not disclose NVIDIA's purchases or qualification details for every product.

What to check next: Separate product production evidence from customer-specific procurement evidence.

Source published:
Samsung · HBM4 at NVIDIA GTC 2026 ↗

Samsung HBM4E is a separate milestone

Sample shipments; production planned

Samsung's June 1 UK release reports 12-layer HBM4E samples shipped to customers, with mass production planned around customer schedules.

Source limitations: The cited release is sample evidence, not proof of HBM4E volume production or a named customer's deployment.

What to check next: Look for a later, explicit volume-production or customer-acceptance disclosure.

Source published:
Samsung · HBM4E sample shipments ↗

SK hynix: memory technology partnership

Multiyear partnership announced

NVIDIA and SK hynix announced memory codevelopment across Vera Rubin and other platforms.

Source limitations: The partnership does not disclose generation-by-generation shipment volumes, contract value or supplier rankings.

What to check next: Read the annual-report supplier disclosure alongside product-specific shipment evidence.

Source published:
NVIDIA · SK hynix memory technology partnership ↗

Continue the research